10
Commander damage for Partner + Meld?
(self.mtg)
General discussion, questions, and media related to Magic: the Gathering that doesn't fit within a more specific community. Our equivalent of /r/magicTCG!
Type [[Card name]]
in your posts and comments and CardBot will reply with a link to the card! More info here.
@xgranade for something that is strictly silver border it isn't crazy for any given head judge to come up with a different answer.
For me the most CR correct answer is it counts for both. As the current ones count for the commander damage of the part that is your commander:
903.3b If a player’s commander is a meld card and it’s melded with the other member of its meld pair, the resulting melded permanent is that player’s commander.
So the double commander meld will increment both commander damage tracks.
@xgranade thinking on it more, I think this is the only answer supported by the rules.
I do think if WotC ever printed partner meld/mutate they would change the rules. (More likely they never print it)